DJ Drama Explains Third Power; Talks ‘Gangsta Grillz’ Name Departure + Cover Art

Atlanta radio personality/producer DJ Drama held a listening session for his new album Third Power last night (September 22nd), in New York.

A number of executives, journalists and artists came out to support DJ Drama’s third release, which is due in stores on October 11th.

Artist like, Maino, Vado, Cam’ron, DJ Enuff, Big Kap, Crazy Legs and others came through the listening session, which took place at Skyline Studios in midtown Manhattan.

Third Power features a number of notable guest appearances, with artists like Gucci Mane, Young Jeezy, Fabolous, Big Sean, Wiz Khalifa, Vado, Cam’ron and newcomer Jaz, checking in to support Drama on his third official release.

“It’s really humbling more than anything,” DJ Drama told about the support he has received for his album and the attendance at his listening part. “I’ve been doing this a while now I’m just glad that I can keep moving and keep the support going on both ends, to giving love and getting love back and keeping the streets hot too.”

According to DJ Drama, the release of Third Power is significant, in that it is first major release outside of his well known Gangsta Grillz brand name.

“It’s been a great beautiful gift and a small curse,” DJ Drama told about the success of Gangsta Grillz, which his seen Drama collaborate with artists like Lil Wayne, Lil Boosie, Young Jeezy, T.I. and numerous others.

“With this being my third album, I didn’t want to name it Gangsta Grillz, because musically. I felt like I wanted a higher meaning, so we called it Third Power.”

According to DJ Drama, even though he opted to depart from the Gangsta Grillz brand-name for his third release, he has no plans on retiring the popular brand-name.

“Gangsta Grillz helped me get to where I am today, so I would never retire that,” DJ Drama told

The tracklist for Third Power is listed below:

1. Oh My Ft. Fabolous, Wiz Khalifa & Roscoe Dash
2. Rough Ft. Freddie Gibbs & Young Jeezy
3. Hand Of God Ft. Maino
4. Oh Baby Ft. CamRon, Vado & Jaz
5. Never See You Again Ft. Wale & Talia Coles
6. Lay Low Ft. Meek Mill, Young Chris & Freeway
7. Aint No Way Around It Ft. Future
8. Undercover Ft. J. Cole & Chris Brown
9. Everything That Glitters Ft. Pusha T & French Montana
10. Me And My Money Ft. Gucci Mane
11. So Paid Ft. Red Cafe & 2 Chainz
12. Take My City Ft. B.o.B. & Crooked I
13. Lockdown Ft. Ya Boy & Akon
14. Oh My (Remix) Ft. Trey Songz, 2 Chainz & Big Sean

Props to AHH